Loneliness

Written on May 01, 2015


Loneliness (noun): “sadness because one has no friends or company”

This might sound a bit alarming but when I saw that this topic was requested, my heart just skipped a beat. In a strange sort of way, I kind of love the way loneliness feels. Don’t go calling me crazy now. I already know I’m messed up in my own special way.

There’s just something so… pleasing about feeling lonely. You have no one to answer to, no one to listen to, and the best thing ever, no one expecting anything from you. You can just chill and be yourself. You can openly accept yourself and just be free. It may sound great and all but as do must good things, it does come with its own limitations.

In my case, when I am alone for too long, I start to think and not only that but when I think, I always jump to the extreme and over-think. Before long, I’m either hating life, thinking about suicide, or holding a sharp object, with the intent of hurting myself. That is why I try to make sure I don’t go overboard with the whole ‘loneliness’ thing. I am not even kidding. There have been plenty of instances where I just have to force myself to do something else in order to prevent anything stupid from happening.

So… I’m going to just cut myself off here before this gets too dark and depressing. In the end, loneliness is a gift but don’t abuse it. Enjoy it while you can but try not to let it go to your head. It’s good to have some clingy friends in this instance, who will make sure you’re doing alright, no matter how annoying they may seem at first. It is helpful to know that someone cares in this seemingly careless world…

Leave a Reply

