Anime

Written on July 11, 2015


Anime (noun): “a style of Japanese film and television animation, typically aimed at adults as well as children”

I will try my best to keep this update as short as I possibly can or else, it will turn into a long ramble of me fangirling over various animes I enjoy. I will be a logical and reasonable human being by restricting myself to only discussing four animes in total. But before I get into that, let me share with you how I first got into watching anime.

When I was in 9th grade, I would hang around people who liked manga and anime. At the time, I thought it was a bit childish and foreign yet I never voiced my opinions then. It wasn’t until the summer after my 10th-grade year did I finally start watching. At first, I watched out of curiosity but then I actually started to enjoy it. I watched a few episodes of Ouran High School Host Club. It was funny. Then I stopped.

I started again later when Turtle_Books recommended that I watch Nagi no Asukara. That anime was so amazing. It just- wow. I really liked it. And ever since then, I’ve been watching anime, mostly the popular ones, but I’m trying my best to find animes that fit into the psychological genre, which I have a thing for. Anyways, time to pick four animes I want to discuss.

Death Note

This anime has an amazing soundtrack as well as an awesome storyline. It’s left me with so many thoughts about it and I ended up downloading a lot of the music to my iPod. I still have them, to this day. It’s just that good. The characters were amusing to watch as well and I- I loved it so much that I binged it. I binged and I watched 10 episodes in a single day. I would stay up late into the night to watch and squeeze a few episodes into my morning routine before I left for school. I should rewatch it someday. Maybe I will.

Black Butler

Again, another amazing soundtrack. I downloaded a few songs onto my iPod, too. I love this anime to pieces. All three seasons were just amazing, but it seemed as if each one was better than the last. The second and the third seasons just had amazing endings. I watched the specials for season two and enjoyed them. I still need to watch the OVA, but I haven’t had time to lately. Maybe I can start it soon.

Puella Magi Madoka Magic

A friend recommended this one, as well. This one just screwed with my mind a lot. I thought it’d be super innocent but… I didn’t expect any of it. You there. Go watch it right now then watch the movie. It will eat you alive. I also like the soundtrack and downloaded a few songs. (Notice a pattern yet? XD )

Tokyo Ghoul

I used to be obsessed with this. Not so much now. The second season wasn’t as good as the first. I love the first season’s opening song and have since downloaded it. I just wish there was more meat in the show. I know the manga is better, but I’ve always been biased to anime. Although, this is the first anime that I have read the manga for. I only started watching this out of curiosity. I really enjoy the characters, though, which is why you might notice I have a Kaneki Ken avatar. I think he’s a cool person and I can relate to him in some ways.

I think that should do the job. At first, I planned to do only three but I couldn’t just leave out Tokyo Ghoul. Anyways, I’m done here. Until next time, goodbye! (Side Note: Here’s a link to my anime list, if anyone would like it.)

 

Leave a Reply

