Intelligence/Work Ethic

Written on July 20, 2015


Intelligence (noun): “the ability to acquire and apply knowledge and skills”

Work Ethic (noun): “the principle that hard work is intrinsically virtuous or worthy of reward”

First of all, I’d like to thank Pod for requesting this chapter. I am literally so excited to be writing this. Second of all, I’m going to warn you guys. This chapter might seem like I’m bragging, but I’m allowed to brag. This is my book after all. If you dislike feeling dumb in comparison to my high IQ, exit out now. Are you still there? And you’re okay with bragging? Well, let’s get started then!

For some reason, other people see me as smart. It could be the fact that I always do well in school. I did have a 4.5 GPA both semesters of my Junior year in high school. It could also do with the fact that I finish my tests fast. By fast, I mean extremely fast. It’s weird because while I’m taking the actual test, I feel like I’m going really slow but when I’m done and go to turn it in, I’m the first one done. I don’t get it.

So, yeah, for some reason, I’m smart. I also seem to absorb material really fast. I’m a fast learner. It’s in my blood. Every school subject came easily to me. It could be due to how unsocial I was or maybe I’m gifted? Then again, my memory is terrible when it comes to the world outside of school. I’m bad with faces and people. I can’t remember most conversations. References are lost on me, most of the time.

Sometimes, I wish I was dumber yet more social. I guess it is my fate to be smart. Might as well take advantage of it. I do try to help others when I can. However, I am easily annoyed and will refuse to help people I do not like. So… yeah. What else can I say? Hm. How about more bragging?

I was so excited last week to see that I got a 5 on the AP Calculus exam and a 4 on the AP US History one. It was my first time taking AP classes and I was pleasantly surprised. I worked hard on those tests too. I’m just so proud of myself. I did well on them. I hope to do well on my AP exams next year as well. There’s also college to look forward to. How fun.

Let’s move onto the next part, shall we? PrivacyIssues requested that I discuss the difference between intelligence and smart. You may refer back upwards for the definition of intelligence while I copy/paste the definition of ‘smart’ here for you all.

Smart (adjective): “having or showing a quick-witted intelligence”

It seems as if the difference is obvious. Intelligence means the ability to learn while smart reveals a person with a quick-witted intelligence. The words kind of build up on each other. I also see different kinds of “smart” and “intelligence” as well. To name a few, there is street smart, people smart, book smart, as well as emotional intelligence. I actually have a low emotional intelligence. I remember because I took a test on it back in psychology class. Anyways, I think I’ve said all I wanted to say in this chapter. Time to hit post and watch this go live…

 

Leave a Reply

