Shift by Bdicocco

Name: Shift

Author: Bdicocco

Genre: Fantasy

Summary:

Kayden Lee is a girl from New Jersey with newly divorced parents, absent friends, and an annoyingly perfect cousin staying with her for an entire summer.

Blaze Merg is a wizard… but not a particularly good one. He’s still surprised that he managed to graduate from school, and finding a job has proved to be a lot more difficult than expected.

Their lives become intertwined just as the magical world erupts into chaos. Spells begin failing, people start dying, and the two are magically bound together against their will. As the magical community struggles to survive without magic, Blaze and Kayden try to find a way to break the spell that has physically bound them together. But as they navigate through magical politics, they must also control their growing attraction to one another, which may just be another unfortunate side effect of their spell gone wrong.

Link: https://www.wattpad.com/story/47902476-shift

Review:

Chapter One.1. Great opening line. It adds personality and character as well as the fact that it hooks my attention. Just from that one line, I am asking myself a million questions that I hope to be answered by continuing to read. And so, I continue on. Hm. So the first paragraph after Lexi asks, “How are you?” seems to be appropriate to share. However, the whole paragraph after that had me zoning out for a bit from the sheer amount of info-dropping that was occurring. In my opinion, I would cut off the end of the paragraph from the sentence “But by the end of the week…” since the main focus is on the MC’s relationship with Lexi, and not her parents’ divorce. Some of the paragraphs look a bit daunting. It might be best to separate some of them into different paragraphs as opposed to keeping them as one colossal paragraph.The action sequence came a bit out of nowhere, but I liked it. Very unexpected, and the stranger sounds mysterious.  After a while, though, it feels rushed, or maybe it’s supposed to feel rushed. (“Her feet pounded against the concrete sidewalks as time quickly sped up in a crazed frenzy.”) I’m still a bit curious about the thoughts running through her head. Is she nervous? Afraid? Panicked? Scared? What is she? Great ending to the chapter. Overall, this was a good chapter. Plenty of action and excitement. The reader is just thrown in the middle of it all. It didn’t info-drop as much as the stories I typically reject for book reviews, so that’s a plus.

Chapter One.2. Wow. A POV change! How exciting. I’m only a few paragraphs in, and the charactization for Blaze’s personality amazes me. The writer has done an excellent job with conveying personality and voice through the different perspectives so far. It’s kind of cute how he takes care of the illusions as if they were his own children. I’m really enjoying this little facet of his character. I can’t think of much else to say about this part, because I’m enjoying it too much. Great ending line, too. I think I’ll just end this review here, because I’m sure I’ve read enough to be helpful to the author. Although, I have just added it to my library so I’ll be sure to read more of it in my spare time. As always, thanks for reading this review, and have a great day/night. Until next time, good luck!~

Leave a Reply

