What is the best habit you’ve taken up from another person?

Answer by Jiayan Luo:

Showering

My Mom passed this one down to me. And no, showering was not the habit.

For as long as I can remember, my Mom would have a ritual whenever she came back from work. She works in a lab and would go to a Zumba studio on certain days, so when she came back, you could imagine that she was not the cleanest person. Thus, before anything else, my Mom would head straight to the shower. After a few minutes of scrubbing, she would head out and go on with her business.

I have recently picked up on this habit. A month ago, I started to shower as soon as I came back from school or the gym, so I was showering around 3:00 P.M. – 5:00 P.M.

I have found that the effects of this habit were profound. I feel instantly rejuvenated after the shower. Spending a good portion of my day feeling clean is awesome.

Since I have school, I am unable to work much in the morning, so I do all my work in the afternoon. Prior to showering early, I would procrastinate by browsing the internet at night, further delaying my shower, and losing precious sleep time. Preparing for my shower would also cut some of my work time short. Now, by jumping right into the shower as soon as I get home, I am cutting out the time wasted through procrastination. I also have the added benefit of jumping right into bed as soon as I feel like I have hit a comfortable point in work.

Showering early is definitely an awesome habit and anyone reading this should definitely give it a try, if only for a day.

Source: What is the best habit you’ve taken up from another person?

Leave a Reply

